Numb

​With a book in front of my eyes
And my mind still wondering over my loss
I feel nothing, nothing at all.
Life is at a standstill now
The heart restraints to love anymore
But I feel nothing, nothing at all.
It’s midnight and I’m in my room
With words longing to spill on a paper
And I feel so numb, so numb to operate.
It’s hard to believe that so much happened
Enough to destroy one’s heart and soul,
But I sit here, unaffected at all.
A moment ago my brain chased
The memories of the past
Except that now I sit so still.
I reckon how can I be so quiet
I fail miserably to find an answer.
The mind’s empty for the moment
And I fear if something’s wrong with it.
Because, it’s not normal to feel nothing
When you’ve had the worst lately.
Is it that I’ve gone so cold
And unsusceptible to everything?
Even the heartbreaks won’t affect me
Have I transformed into a stone?
Because I feel so numb, so numb even to groan.

28 thoughts on “Numb

Leave a Reply

